Dave Young / Terry Promane Octet

The Dave Young/Terry Promane Octet features a who’s who of Canadian jazz musicians assembled for the CD release "Octet Volume One." The Octet embodies what many have called “The Toronto Sound”: well crafted and uniquely voiced arrangements, a distinctly Canadian musical sensibility, impeccable tuning, flawless execution and world-class solos.

Octet co-leader Dave Young is one of Canada’s most valuable and beloved musical exports – named to the Order of Canada in 2007. Whether performing as part of a symphony orchestra, as an integral member of an iconic jazz ensemble (with the likes of the late Oscar Peterson), or as the leader of one of his own dynamic units, Dave remains a total musician, with artistic soul in abundance. As a jazz artist, he is a chameleon-like bassist, who often shines brightest in collaborative efforts with other musicians. Because of his technical skill, few bassists (jazz or otherwise) are able to dig in, swing hard and still render a lyrical arco solo the way Dave can.

Also at the Octet’s helm is Terry Promane: an Associate Professor and Coordinator of Jazz Studies at the University Toronto, the Director of “The Jazz Camp” at the Interprovincial Music Camp (IMC), and a much in-demand freelance trombonist and tubaist. Terry was an original member of The Rob McConnell Tentet and currently appears with numerous Toronto-based groups, ranging from The Mike Murley Septet to the newly formed Davidson/Carn 9 (D/C 9).

The other distinguished members of The Dave Young/Terry Promane Octet are Kevin Turcotte (trumpet/flugelhorn), Vern Dorge (alto saxophone), Mike Murley (tenor saxophone), Perry White (baritone saxophone), Gary Williamson (piano) and Terry Clarke (drums).

Site by GoodWeb & plousia